Eviction Beginning
Eviction Beginning
Eviction Beginning
Eviction Beginning
RSS for Eviction Resources
Follow Eviction Resources on Twitter
Eviction Notice Banner

Eviction Notice
The Eviction Resources

Ohio Eviction Process



The #1 Ohio Eviction Source on the Internet


Ohio Eviction Process    |    Ohio Eviction Notice
Eviction Notice




When you are done reading about the Ohio Eviction Process below, we recommend you purchase the corresponding Ohio Eviction Notice to be delivered to your Tenant.


Eviction in Ohio:


Ohio Eviction Laws


The Ohio Eviction Laws are found in Chapter 5321 of the Ohio Revised Code. As a landlord in Ohio, it is a good idea to review these every now and then.

Notice to Leave Premises


In the Ohio Eviction Process, the first step in Evicting a Tenant is serving the tenant with a Notice to Leave the Premises, commonly referred to as a 3 Day Notice. This Ohio 3 Day Eviction Notice gives the tenant 3 business days to leave the premises, or else the landlord can file an Eviction Lawsuit. Most tenants will comply with the demand in the 3 Day Notice, but some do not.

Forcible Entry and Detainer Lawsuit


Once a tenant has received a 3 Day Eviction Notice, has not complied, and 3 business days has expired, the landlord should file an Eviction Lawsuit called a "Forcible Entry and Detainer" lawsuit. The court will serve the lawsuit upon the tenant, and a hearing will be set as early as 7 days from when the tenant receives the lawsuit.

Go to the Hearing


The court will tell the landlord when the Eviction hearing will be. At the hearing, the landlord should bring proof that they delivered the 3 Day Eviction Notice (at minimum bring a copy of it), bring the lease, and bring any other witnesses or evidence needed. The landlord will have an opportunity to tell the judge why the tenant should be evicted (usually as simple as "they have not paid the rent"). The tenant, if they show up, will also have the opportunity to "tell their side of the story."

Order of Eviction


If the judge rules in favor of the landlord, the court will issue an order of eviction, usually giving the tenant 10 days to move.

Sheriff Removal


If the tenant does not leave after the time given in the Order of Eviction, the court will order the Sheriff or other peace officer to physically remove the tenant by force.



Next Step: We recommend you purchase the corresponding Ohio Eviction Notice to be delivered to your Tenant.


This site strives to have the most current information on state eviction laws and forms, however, legislatures and judges' rulings are always changing the laws. The information on this site is to be used as a guide, and is not to be used as legal advice, or as a substitute for the advice of an attorney. If you believe any information on this site is incorrect or needs to be updated, please Contact Us immediately.