Eviction Beginning
Eviction Beginning
Eviction Beginning
Eviction Beginning
RSS for Eviction Resources
Follow Eviction Resources on Twitter
Eviction Notice Banner

Eviction Notice
The Eviction Resources

Mississippi Eviction Process



The #1 Mississippi Eviction Source on the Internet


Mississippi Eviction Process    |    Mississippi Eviction Notice
Eviction Notice




When you are done reading about the Mississippi Eviction Process below, we recommend you purchase the corresponding Mississippi Eviction Notice to be delivered to your Tenant.


Eviction in Mississippi:


Mississippi Eviction Laws


The Eviction Laws in Mississippi are governed by the Mississippi Landlord Tenant Relationship Act. This act not only covers evictions, but also covers other aspects of the legal relationship between landlords and tenants. If you are a landlord in Mississippi, it is a good idea to read and become familiar with the Mississippi Landlord Tenant Relationship Act.

Reasons to Evict in Mississippi


There are 5 reasons a landlord in Mississippi can evict a tenant. The most common reason is non-payment of rent. Another common reason is "breach of the lease." This means that the tenant is breaking rules in the lease. For example, parking cars on the front lawn, misusing the property, or keeping an unauthorized pet. A tenant causing damamge to the property is another reason to evict in Mississippi. The other reasons to evict are holdover (a tenant staying past the time the lease has expired) or simply to end a month-to-month tenancy.

Mississippi Eviction Notices


If a landlord needs to evict a tenant for any of the above reasons, the first step in the Mississippi Eviction Process is serving the tenant with a Mississippi Eviction Notice. If the landlord needs to evict the tenant for not paying the rent, the landlord should serve a Mississippi 3 Day Notice. This notice gives the tenant 3 days either pay the rent or leave. If the landlord needs to evict for breaching the lease or causing damamge, the landlord needs to serve the tenant with a Mississippi 30 Day Notice, which gives the tenant 30 days to cure the breach or problem. Both notices need to include language that state the tenant has a right to cure before the notice period is up. To end a month-to-month tenancy, a 30 Day notice also needs to be served.

Acceptable Methods of Service


In order for the Mississippi Eviction to work, the tenant must be "served" properly. "Serve" is a fancy word for delivering the Eviction Notice to the tenant. In Mississippi, an eviction notice can be served by:

Summons and Complaint


After the landlord has served the eviction notice, and the time period has run out, the next step in the Mississippi Eviction Process is filing an eviction lawsuit in court. The landlord should go to the district court clerk for the district where the property is located. The court clerk will confirm that you are in the right place. The landlord should request a Summons and Complaint be issued to evict the tenant. The Summons and Complaint will be served on the tenant by the Sheriff's Office. It tells the tenant that they are being sued for eviction and that they must appear in court if they want to fight it. The landlord will get a copy, so the landlord knows when to appear in court also.

Going to Court


In order for the landlord to win the eviction, he or she must show up at the court date set in the Summons. The landlord should bring all relevant paperwork, including the lease, the Mississippi Eviction Notice, pictures, witnesses, etc. The judge will hear each side (landlord and tenant) and will make a decision. If the tenant does not show up, then the landlord will automatically win. If the landlord wins the case, the judge will order the tenant to vacate the property within a certain time period.

Self Help Eviction


Mississippi Law provides a way for a landlord to conduct the Mississippi Eviction Process against a tenant without going to court. This is generally not recommended, because if the landlord makes a mistake, they will be liable for damages. In "Self-Help" Eviction, the landlord may lock out the tenant and move the tenants' belongings to the street ONLY IF: 1. The lease says the landlord has this right, AND, 2. This can be accomplished with no "Breach of the Peace." If the landlord evicts using self-help eviction, the landlord MUST STILL DELIVER AN EVICTION NOTICE. Again, this kind of "Self-Help Eviciton" is not recommended by this webiste.



Next Step: We recommend you purchase the corresponding Mississippi Eviction Notice to be delivered to your Tenant.


This site strives to have the most current information on state eviction laws and forms, however, legislatures and judges' rulings are always changing the laws. The information on this site is to be used as a guide, and is not to be used as legal advice, or as a substitute for the advice of an attorney. If you believe any information on this site is incorrect or needs to be updated, please Contact Us immediately.